+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Wow GameTrailers...

  1. #1
    Smith6612's Avatar
    Smith6612 is offline <<< wants a Turkey Smith6612 has a spectacular aura about
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Exploded
    Posts
    6,483

    Wow GameTrailers...

    I can see why their site is raking in boatloads of money but yet they still shove ads down everyone's necks. Take a look at what my Linux router says it hits up on it's filter list just from ONE page alone!

    http:// www .gametrailers.com/ad_frame.php

    http:// www .gametrailers.com/ad_frame.php (Instance 2)

    http:// www .gametrailers.com/ad_frame.php (Instance 3)

    http:// viagametrailers.112.2o7.net

    http:// secure-us.imrworldwide.com/

    http:// edge.quantserve.com/

    http:// beacon.securestudies.com/

    http:// ad.doubleclick.net/
    Now some of those such as the viagametrailers.112.2o7, the imrworldwide and the securestudies I put in there because those sites don't even show a homepage when I type in their root domain, nor do they identify who the domain belongs to, so because of that, it's on the blacklist. Might I also mention, securestudies is a marketing company and imrworldwide and 2o7 are advertisement systems. I hope GameTrailers enjoys having their ads and whatever else I've blocked on the blocklist, as even the video ads do not show up here . Once they either increase video bitrate by a few megabits or cut down on the crap, I'll gladly remove some of the blocks.
    Last edited by Smith6612; 06-08-2009 at 03:36 PM.

    My signature likes cookies! Do you? :D

  2. #2
    batman1's Avatar
    batman1 is offline x10Hosting Member batman1 is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Jamaica
    Posts
    92

  3. #3
    Smith6612's Avatar
    Smith6612 is offline <<< wants a Turkey Smith6612 has a spectacular aura about
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Exploded
    Posts
    6,483

    Re: Wow GameTrailers...

    lol I can tell that GameTrailers is getting angry at the ad blockers despite the money they pull in. Their Bonus Round player now requires you to unblock ads before you even are able to use the player. Turns out, this morning visiting GameTrailers triggered an additional two filters on the router, so it seems like they really want to get me to see an ad. All they need is a simple text ad that is unscripted and works with the basic HTML linking concept at the top that is served from them and I'm fine with that

    Meh, looks like it's time to take this Bonus Round FLV file and run it through a media player.
    Last edited by Smith6612; 06-17-2009 at 08:40 AM.

    My signature likes cookies! Do you? :D

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
x10hosting free hosting for the masses
dedicated servers