Closed Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Malware attack on site.

  1. #1
    myallptcsites66 is offline x10Hosting Member myallptcsites66 is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    49

    Malware attack on site.

    I scanned my site with backup buddy plugin and it showed that my site was effected with malware entry mwjs488. After researching more on this malware i got to know from some source that javascript included from a .co.cc domain, used to distribute malware. I sent the support to .co.cc regarding this matter and they replied that "they scanned their whole site and it is safe and my site showing some malware code and I should remove that otherwise my domain will get banned". I just backed my database and installed the newly fresh wordpress on site. And again on scanning it showing malware entry mwjs488. I m fed up with this.
    Source of malware info - http://sucuri.net/malware/malware-entry-mwjs488

    Can you help me with this.???

  2. #2
    Livewire's Avatar
    Livewire is offline Abuse Compliance Officer Livewire is a glorious beacon of lightLivewire is a glorious beacon of light
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Behind a keyboard.
    Posts
    8,998

    Re: Malware attack on site.

    Looking to see what I can do, although I'm worried the content in question may be inside the database. There's a few hacks out for WP that actually infect the database first.


    TOS breakers will be suspended regardless of race, creed, national origin, hair color, or favorite food. Thanks for your understanding!

  3. #3
    Livewire's Avatar
    Livewire is offline Abuse Compliance Officer Livewire is a glorious beacon of lightLivewire is a glorious beacon of light
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Behind a keyboard.
    Posts
    8,998

    Re: Malware attack on site.

    I'm getting inconclusive results everywhere; the file that the sucuri scanner is reporting doesn't appear to contain -any- of the supposed "mwjs488" malware code. It's reporting it as part of the Anticipate Plugin - my guess is that file was compromised for someone else (or several people) at one time, and thus securi marked it as a viral file when in truth the file doesn't appear to be viral. The file in question is this one specifically: "wp-content/plugins/AnticipatePlugin/js/DD_belatedPNG_0.0.8a-min.js"

    If you're 100% sure you've downloaded the wordpress from wordpress themselves along with all the plugins, the fastest way to confirm or deny that it has a virus is to find an online virus scanner that can scan a website (not a scanner like sucuri's but an actual virus scanner) and have it scan the website. You -could- always try viewing the page yourself, but I don't recommend this for the obvious reason that if it is indeed viral, you're then infected right off.
    Last edited by Livewire; 07-13-2011 at 03:47 AM.


    TOS breakers will be suspended regardless of race, creed, national origin, hair color, or favorite food. Thanks for your understanding!

  4. #4
    callumacrae's Avatar
    callumacrae is offline not alex mac callumacrae is just really nice
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wellesbourne, England
    Posts
    5,162

    Re: Malware attack on site.

    It's saying that this is the bad page: http://ptc-examiner.co.cc/wp-content..._0.0.8a-min.js

    It is wrong.

    You might want to send them an email :-)
    I can customise your phpBB board. Send me a PM.
    lynxphp - info, tutorials and scripts
    "A forum post should be like a skirt; long enough to cover the subject but short enough to keep things interesting."

  5. #5
    myallptcsites66 is offline x10Hosting Member myallptcsites66 is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    49

    Re: Malware attack on site.

    @ Livewire: I used fantastico for installing wordpress....and all plugins are clean. And i hope that I got the wordpress files installed from wordpress itself. Well i jst scanned my site with virus total and it reported as safe while scanning with AVG it reported .co.cc domain as "surf with caution".

    @ Callumacrae : I scanned that .js file which you reported as bad, with Kaspersky but it is safe. See the report below


    Kaspersky File Scanner
    Scanned file: DD_belatedPNG_0.0.8a-min.js

    You're clean!

    Kaspersky File Scanner has not detected any viruses at this time in the file you submitted.

    However, only a fully-functional antivirus solution with regularly updated virus definitions can ensure comprehensive protection against malware. If you do not have an antivirus solution installed, you may wish to consider purchasing one today.

    So what should be my next step regarding this matter.

  6. #6
    callumacrae's Avatar
    callumacrae is offline not alex mac callumacrae is just really nice
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wellesbourne, England
    Posts
    5,162

    Re: Malware attack on site.

    Ignore it, send them an email if you want.
    I can customise your phpBB board. Send me a PM.
    lynxphp - info, tutorials and scripts
    "A forum post should be like a skirt; long enough to cover the subject but short enough to keep things interesting."

  7. #7
    myallptcsites66 is offline x10Hosting Member myallptcsites66 is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    49

    Re: Malware attack on site.

    Ok i will send them an email and will see what happens.

  8. #8
    myallptcsites66 is offline x10Hosting Member myallptcsites66 is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    49

    Re: Malware attack on site.

    Now they blocked my domain.....

Closed Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Reported Attack Site!
    By admin500 in forum Free Hosting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-08-2010, 06:33 AM
  2. yesterday my x10hosting site said it had malware on it...
    By kevin1gamer in forum Free Hosting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-07-2010, 10:55 AM
  3. Reported Attack Site
    By mohifbla in forum Free Hosting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-06-2010, 08:15 PM
  4. Google is marked my site as Malware Attacked Site.
    By atchaya in forum Free Hosting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-09-2010, 02:00 PM
  5. Site possibly under attack again.
    By Smith6612 in forum Free Hosting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-27-2008, 04:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
x10hosting free hosting for the masses
dedicated servers