+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Fake email warning!

  1. #1
    Matt is offline x10 Elder Matt is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    931

    Fake email warning!

    Somebody is sending emails to our users, trying to get passwords and usernames. Please, do not respond to this email.

    The message may be as follows:

    From: Auvee5015@gmail.com
    Subject: Your X10 Subdomain

    Body:

    Dear, Valued X10 Member

    Due to some server failures in New Orleans we have lost your account domain, username and password.
    Please respond to the email right away. If you do not I will have to suspend your account.

    Thanks, Auvee
    X10 Staff
    X10Hosting staff will never ask for your password.

    As a precaution, do not place your email in your signatures. Also, you may change your settings to not accept email from other members.

  2. #2
    03moscropl's Avatar
    03moscropl is offline Flash Freak 03moscropl is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    349

    Re: Fake email warning!

    i got an email like that i never repyed beacuse i looked at the tos!
    my customised games module for phpnuke
    http://dragongamer.net/modules.php?name=arcade

  3. #3
    Nuno_Aba is offline x10Hosting Member Nuno_Aba is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    79

    Re: Fake email warning!

    Auvee? tehehe

  4. #4
    Alejandro's Avatar
    Alejandro is offline Account Manager Alejandro is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Puebla, México
    Posts
    4,719

    Re: Fake email warning!

    It was a very good idea to post this here! Thanks Madmatt!
    ╔═══════════════════════════════════╗
    Alejandro
    Account Management and Developement
    ╚═══════════════════════════════════╝




  5. #5
    trev's Avatar
    trev is offline x10 Lieutenant trev is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Guildford
    Posts
    334

    Re: Fake email warning!

    Thank's for the warning i havent recieved an email yet, hope no one has bein fooled by this email!
    :ughdance: ::Trev Is back:: :ughdance:
    X10Hosting is the best free host ever

  6. #6
    bobers is offline x10Hosting Member bobers is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    14

    Re: Fake email warning!

    I am not sorry, but who ever wrote that is really sad because that is the most pathetic atempt I have ever seen of someone trying to get account information. I think that a person of either 6 or 90 years could do better than that in 20 seconds.

    And what is with the "Auvee"? I mean, I have been around computers for about 5 years, and have learned just about every last computer/techy word out there, but I have never come across something like this. Could someone please enlighten me?

    Luckly for me I haven't gotten an e-mail like this, and if I do, I won't be sending my information. No, instead I will sending a nice long letter to them on how stupid they are (the letter, of course, comeing from a false account).




    +bobers

  7. #7
    NewFuture's Avatar
    NewFuture is offline x10 Elder NewFuture is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Uk- England
    Posts
    829

    Re: Fake email warning!

    ep thanx for the warning, i ahvnt recieved it tho

  8. #8
    Matt is offline x10 Elder Matt is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    931

    Re: Fake email warning!

    Quote Originally Posted by bobers
    And what is with the "Auvee"? I mean, I have been around computers for about 5 years, and have learned just about every last computer/techy word out there, but I have never come across something like this. Could someone please enlighten me?
    LOL. Auvee is one of the administrators here.

  9. #9
    NewFuture's Avatar
    NewFuture is offline x10 Elder NewFuture is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Uk- England
    Posts
    829

    Re: Fake email warning!

    ha, its just his name, newfuture my username isnt a computer techy word nor is madmatt911

  10. #10
    bobers is offline x10Hosting Member bobers is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    14

    Re: Fake email warning!

    LOL. Boy do I feel like an idoit!!!!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. AnyWhere Email V. 1.0 - RELEASED
    By Brandon in forum Scripts & 3rd Party Apps
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 03-09-2006, 08:38 PM
  2. Have a problem with my forum
    By tikloos in forum Scripts & 3rd Party Apps
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 01-19-2006, 01:14 AM
  3. errors while attaching
    By mattspec in forum Feedback and Suggestions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-19-2005, 01:50 PM
  4. November Desktop
    By n4tec in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-08-2005, 07:18 AM
  5. Fake X10 Email!
    By Brandon in forum News and Announcements
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-16-2005, 04:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
x10hosting free hosting for the masses
dedicated servers