Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: googkle.com

  1. #1
    dsfreak's Avatar
    dsfreak is offline x10 Elder dsfreak is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    669

    googkle.com

    Source: f-secure.com

    Quote Originally Posted by F-Secure
    F-Secure staff has found a malicious website that utilizes a spelling error when typing the name of the popular search engine - 'Google.com'. If a user opens a malicious website, his/her computer gets hijacked - a lot of different malware gets automatically downloaded and installed: trojan droppers, trojan downloaders, backdoors, a proxy trojan and a spying trojan. Also a few adware-related files are installed.

    The name of the malicious website is 'Googkle.com'. PLEASE DO NOT GO TO THIS WEBSITE! Otherwise your computer will get infected! We have reported the case to the authorities.

    Detailed Description

    Our investigation revealed that the whole infection starts from the 'googkle.com' website. This website, as well as a few related websites are owned by people with Russian names. Also several malicious files that are downloaded from these websites have Russian texts.

    When the 'googkle.com' is opened in a browser, it shows 2 popup windows that are linked to the following websites:

    www.ntsearch.com
    toolbarpartner.com

    The 'ntsearch.com' website downloads and runs the 'pop.chm' file and the 'toolbarpartner.com' website downloads and runs the 'ddfs.chm' file. Both files are downloaded using exploits and they contain exploits themselves to run embedded executable files. One of the webpages of the 'toolbarpartner.com' website downloads a file named 'pic10.jpg' using an exploit. This JPG file is actually an executable that replaces Windows Media Player application.

    In addition these websites launch a stream of webpages with different exploits than end up in downloading and running 2 files from the 'daosearch.com' website:

    web.exe
    classload.jar

    See the description of these files below.

    As far as the JAR archive is concerned. the actual malware functionality is in Installer.class, which downloads file from the same location as the JAR file is being loaded.

    First the applet looks for filename to download from Applet parameter ModulePath (is specified in the HTML tag). If the parameter is not specified the applet defaults to msxmidi.dat.

    After the file is downloaded the applet gets the location of Windows directory with GetWindowsDirectory() and saves the downloaded executable as 'web.exe' and executes it.

    As said above, two CHM files get downloaded and activated on a computer. The 'pop.chm' file drops the 'sp.exe' file and runs it. The dropped 'sp.exe' file is detected as 'Trojan.Win32.Spooner.f'.

    The 'ddfs.chm' file drops the 'frame.exe' file and runs it. The 'frame.exe' file is a trojan downloader that is detected as 'Trojan-Downloader.Win32.Small.apf'. It has the functionality to automatically reply to security questions asked by Windows to ensure that its process has connection to Internet. This downloader downloads and runs the following files from the 'toolbarpartner.com' website:

    xz.exe
    ggl.exe

    The 'xz.exe' file is a trojan dropper that is detected as 'Trojan-Dropper.Win32.Small.vv'. It drops a DLL named 'winloadhh.dll', detected as 'Trojan-Downloader.Win32.Small.anu' to the root folder of C: drive. This DLL is another downloader that connects to 2 different websites to get the list of files to download:

    toolbarpartner.com
    sturfajtn.com

    Last time we checked these sites, they contained the following list of files to download:

    The 'sturfajtn.com' website:

    next3.exe
    next1.exe
    next2.exe

    The 'toolbarpartner.com' website:

    ggl.exe
    svchosts.exe
    proxyrnd.exe
    ldr.exe
    toolbar.exe
    inst.exe
    winran.exe

    These files are currently detected as follows:

    next1.exe: Trojan-Spy.Win32.Banker.jk
    next2.exe: Trojan-Proxy.Win32.Small.bh
    next3.exe: Backdoor.Win32.Zins.c
    ggl.exe: Trojan-Dropper.Win32.Small.vn
    inst.exe: Trojan-Dropper.Win32.Small.wp
    ldr.exe: Trojan-Downloader.Win32.Agent.lv
    proxyrnd.exe: Backdoor.Win32.Jeemp.c

    So as you see, a nice malware package get installed on an affected computer: 2 backdoors, 2 trojan droppers, a proxy trojan, a spying trojan (that steals bank-related information) and a trojan downloader.

    The 'winran.exe' file that is downloaded from 'pillz.info' website is a trojan dropper. It copies itself to Windows System folder with a random name and drops a DLL also with a random name to the same folder. The DLL modifies HOSTS file to block connection to the following websites:

    downloads1.kaspersky-labs.com
    downloads2.kaspersky-labs.com
    downloads3.kaspersky-labs.com
    downloads4.kaspersky-labs.com
    download.mcafee.com
    liveupdate.symantecliveupdate.com
    liveupdate.symantec.com
    update.symantec.com

    The 'svchosts.exe' file is a trojan dropper. It drops a DLL named 'svchosts.dll' into Windows System folder. This DLL places a fake virus alert on a desktop. The alert looks like that (original spelling preserved):

    VIRUS ALERT!
    YOUR PC IS INFECTED!

    IT HAS BEEN DETECTED THAT YOUR PC HAS AT LEAST 3 DANGEROUS VIRUSES!
    TO KNOW FOR SURE YOU URGENTLY NEED TO RUN AN ANTIVIRUS TEST ON YOUR PC!

    The consequences of spyware and virus presence on your pc might belike:
    loosing all the data, data might be stolen, your secrets might beexposed.

    PROTECT YOUR PC!
    REMOVE ALL VIRUSES NOW!

    This fake alert is created by placing the HTML file on a desktop, so a user could click on the alert and go to a pre-defined website. The link from this fake alert points to the following website:

    topantivirus.biz

    This website offers links to different websites that offer anti-virus and spyware cleaners for download. The motto of this site is 'Top Antivirus - We help people.'. Unfortunately the way people are directed to that website is somewhat deceptional.

    The 'toolbar.exe' is an adware installer, that installs an adware toolbar known as 'Perez'.

    The 'pic10.jpg' file is a trojan dropper similar to 'frame.exe'. It also drops a DLL named 'winloadhh.dll' to the root of C: drive. This DLL has the same functionality as the DLL, detected as 'Trojan-Downloader.Win32.Small.anu' mentioned above.

    The 'web.exe' file is also a trojan downloader that is identical to the 'pic10.jpg' file described above.
    HOLY SHIZNET!

  2. #2
    CoolFinalFan's Avatar
    CoolFinalFan is offline x10 Lieutenant CoolFinalFan is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC USA
    Posts
    311

    Exclamation Re: googkle.com

    wow thatz some crap there and to think somebody actually has the time to do this crap....!
    :roflwerd:

  3. #3
    dsfreak's Avatar
    dsfreak is offline x10 Elder dsfreak is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    669

    Re: googkle.com

    Yea, just remember: ALWAYS CHECK YOUR SPELLING...... espically of GOOGLE>>>>> If ya don't, your computer will get killed, then will come back and KILL YOU!

  4. #4
    kaozskyblade is offline x10 Sophmore kaozskyblade is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    118

    Re: googkle.com

    Omg, I didnt know that. Damn Russian hackers and their love for misspelled web pages (sorry if i offend anyone here

  5. #5
    hartap's Avatar
    hartap is offline x10 Sophmore hartap is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Jakarta
    Posts
    196

    Re: googkle.com

    sometimes we need stuff like that, make us learn more to be carefull

  6. #6
    Nate_Benton's Avatar
    Nate_Benton is offline x10 Lieutenant Nate_Benton is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Plainwell, Michigan, USA.
    Posts
    285

    Re: googkle.com

    *Has a linux box, goes to googkle.com*

    EDIT: it must have been removed...
    Last edited by Nate_Benton; 10-09-2005 at 02:43 PM.

  7. #7
    Matthews255's Avatar
    Matthews255 is offline x10 Lieutenant Matthews255 is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cambs, UK
    Posts
    413

    Re: googkle.com

    lol.

    first thing when i get too school

    googkle.com

  8. #8
    redtailblackshark's Avatar
    redtailblackshark is offline x10 Sophmore redtailblackshark is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    124

    Re: googkle.com

    that site dosn't even work anymore, this is old news.

  9. #9
    mgbenz's Avatar
    mgbenz is offline x10Hosting Member mgbenz is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    16

    Re: googkle.com

    I always thought typos were dangerous and this proves it.
    http://xthost.info/mgbenz - my personal site, please visit. ;)

    http://www.ezyrewards.com/?id=17612 - free domains and other cool stuff!:cool:

  10. #10
    ZeptOr's Avatar
    ZeptOr is offline x10 Sophmore ZeptOr is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    221

    Re: googkle.com

    Quote Originally Posted by Matthews255
    lol.

    first thing when i get too school

    googkle.com
    rofl!

    i remeber this website that worked just like google only everything was upside down or something crazy like that

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
x10hosting free hosting for the masses
dedicated servers