+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3
1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: {eon8} <- Anyone heard of it?

  1. #1
    Development Lead Bryon has disabled reputation Bryon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Rochester Institute of Tech
    Posts
    3,909

    {eon8} <- Anyone heard of it?

    I came across a submitted site on Digg.com a little while ago, and I've found it kind of interesting.

    Site: http://www.eon8.com
    Digg.com Link: http://digg.com/programming/what_is_...what_is_x13600
    YTMND Link (Explaining it's "background"): http://eon8theinvestigation.ytmnd.com/
    http://forums.unfiction.com/forums/v...er=asc&start=0

    Anyone else heard of it? No one seems to have any idea what it's counting down to.. I find it kind of creepy.
    Last edited by Bryon; 06-29-2006 at 10:41 PM.

  2. #2
    x10 Elder dharmil is an unknown quantity at this point dharmil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Avenel New Jersey
    Posts
    828

    Re: {eon8} <- Anyone heard of it?

    i think its all fake some one trying to trick us all

  3. #3
    x10 Elder The_Magistrate is an unknown quantity at this point The_Magistrate's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    559

    Re: {eon8} <- Anyone heard of it?

    Ditto on the creepyness. I gotta remember to check the site tomorrow and see what happens.

    Update: I've been trying to collect links from some of the sites around the net which reference eon8. I'll post a list in a little bit.

    EDIT: I've made a list... some pretty weird stuff. If you're a pseudo-conspiracy theorist like me, your mind is buzzing!!

    Of course, there is a wikipedia entry for it
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eon8

    Definition of the 8th celestial eon
    http://www.khaldea.com/eon/eon8.shtml

    Email from someone inside eon8?
    http://eon8whatthehellisit.blogspot.com/

    Dead site somehow related to eon8? Moo.html?
    http://www.digitdreams.com/

    Domain information about eon8
    http://whois.domaintools.com/Eon8.com

    A shoutcast server on eon8?
    http://www.eon8.com:8000

    After clicking on the "Stream URL" link, it brings up
    http://www.notebookinhand.com

    Site belonging to the owner of notebookinhand.com
    http://www.chrisrossi.com/

    Quote Originally Posted by Spartan Erik
    Hm their site is slow at loading.. did they run out of bandwidth? Lol.
    Nope, the site was hit by the digg effect. It is slow because so many people are accessing it. We'll see what happens tomorrow night though.
    Last edited by The_Magistrate; 06-29-2006 at 11:56 PM.
    Getting Started | Terms of Service | Paid Hosting | Forum Rules | Free Server Status | Banned Countries

    If I have helped you through one of my posts, please click the
    blue checkbox on the right below my avatar to add to my reputation.

  4. #4
    x10 Elder swirly is an unknown quantity at this point swirly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    936

    Re: {eon8} <- Anyone heard of it?

    come on guys remember your science! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eon_(geology) tells u about eons, or otherwise known as aeons. but i dont know wat the 8 is for....cause it def aint 8th eon... must be a worldwide scheme/phenomenon....
    Don't go to bed angry, stay awake and plot revenge.

  5. #5
    Retired Spartan Erik is an unknown quantity at this point Spartan Erik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,381

    Re: {eon8} <- Anyone heard of it?

    Hm their site is slow at loading.. did they run out of bandwidth? Lol.

    If anybody feels like reading more, here's a WHOIS:
    Registrant:
    Domains by Proxy, Inc.

    DomainsByProxy.com
    15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
    Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
    United States

    Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
    Domain Name: EON8.COM
    Created on: 20-Dec-05
    Expires on: 20-Dec-06
    Last Updated on: 09-Jan-06

    Administrative Contact:
    Private, Registration EON8.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
    Domains by Proxy, Inc.
    DomainsByProxy.com
    15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
    Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
    United States
    (480) 624-2599

    Technical Contact:
    Private, Registration EON8.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
    Domains by Proxy, Inc.
    DomainsByProxy.com
    15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
    Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
    United States
    (480) 624-2599

    Domain servers in listed order:
    NS1.BBHOSTS.NET
    NS2.BBHOSTS.NET
    NS3.BBHOSTS.NET
    NS4.BBHOSTS.NET
    NS5.BBHOSTS.NET


    Registry Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
    Registry Status: clientDeleteProhibited
    Registry Status: clientRenewProhibited
    Registry Status: clientTransferProhibited
    Registry Status: clientUpdateProhibited

    Maybe a count down to some kind of new domain thing?
    Last edited by Spartan Erik; 06-29-2006 at 10:59 PM.

  6. #6
    Development Lead Bryon has disabled reputation Bryon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Rochester Institute of Tech
    Posts
    3,909

    Re: {eon8} <- Anyone heard of it?

    There's a big discussion going on irc://irc.usrv.de, channel #eon8, about this.
    Last edited by Bryon; 06-30-2006 at 02:49 AM.

  7. #7
    x10 Lieutenant jensen is an unknown quantity at this point jensen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    At my desk
    Posts
    424

    Re: {eon8} <- Anyone heard of it?

    So what's so special about eon8? Seems like a cleverly coded website. Almost like hack-in-the-box program. With the number of hours counting down. It says 19 hours and counting.
    "For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth" Romans 1:16

  8. #8
    x10 Elder The_Magistrate is an unknown quantity at this point The_Magistrate's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    559

    Re: {eon8} <- Anyone heard of it?

    I've setup a list of the information I've gathered from around the web and included a bunch of links to sites about it.

    It seems that a lot of people are intreagued by this. While the common consensus is that it is a viral marketing campaign, I believe otherwise... why the poorly coded site? Why advertise for an advertisment?

    Oh well, check it out on my blog.
    Getting Started | Terms of Service | Paid Hosting | Forum Rules | Free Server Status | Banned Countries

    If I have helped you through one of my posts, please click the
    blue checkbox on the right below my avatar to add to my reputation.

  9. #9
    x10 Spammer Chris Z is an unknown quantity at this point Chris Z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,803

    Re: {eon8} <- Anyone heard of it?

    wtf that's crazy, obviously i wonder if anyone is taking interest in this or actually believe it, i think it's quite creepy that the red dots could resemble missle silos or nuclear power plants, because i have seen the hit show "24" and i believe it's the 4th season that the whole big act of the muslim terrorists blowing up our nuclear power plants. Also, the virus would be creepy because there is also a virus in that season that obviously corrupts the databases of the nuclear power plants, so anyone else got anything to say abuot this, i think it's just a hoax to get people interested in their site but who knows..?
    -Chris Z
    Retired Account Manager


  10. #10
    Retired Spartan Erik is an unknown quantity at this point Spartan Erik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,381

    Re: {eon8} <- Anyone heard of it?

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Magistrate
    I've setup a list of the information I've gathered from around the web and included a bunch of links to sites about it.

    It seems that a lot of people are intreagued by this. While the common consensus is that it is a viral marketing campaign, I believe otherwise... why the poorly coded site? Why advertise for an advertisment?

    Oh well, check it out on my blog.
    Lol I like your blog post about WarGames; that was the best old-school hacking movie I've ever seen.. such a classic.

    Well 12 hours to go.. we'll find out what this eon8 thing is about soon..
    I'm 99% sure that this is an advertising campaign, or something similar to Bungie's "I Love Bees" plot.
    Last edited by Spartan Erik; 06-30-2006 at 12:40 PM.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3
1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Anybody heard of PDA HTC Universal?
    By vict0r in forum Computers & Technology
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-18-2006, 10:35 PM
  2. MAME!! Anyone heard of it??
    By randomize in forum Gamer's Lounge
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-19-2006, 10:42 AM
  3. Heard this on the news
    By phenetic in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-16-2005, 09:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts