F.A.Q. : Frequently Asked Questions

Discussion in 'Free Hosting' started by Kansy, May 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Here you have the Questions. To see its answer click on the question.
    • [post=368453]How can I get a hosting account?[/post]
    • [post=368454]Where can I see the TOS (Terms Of Service)?[/post]
    • [post=368460]How can I upload files to my hosting account?[/post]
    • [post=368462]How can I access cPanel?[/post]
    • [post=368465]I can't see my website. It says "Server can't be found"[/post]
    • [post=368466]Where can I see the x10Hosting server status?[/post]
    • [post=368468]I have the error "Login Attempt Failed" in cPanel.[/post]
    • [post=368469]How can I change my hosting plan?[/post]
    • [post=368471]Where can I see my account details?[/post]
    • [post=368472]Where can I find the Ad codes?[/post]
    • [post=368473]How can I insert the ads on my website?[/post]
    • [post=368476]Why can't I log in to http://www.x10hosting.com/account?[/post]
    • [post=368482]How can I setup my own domain?[/post]
    • [post=368483]What are the x10 DNS servers (nameservers)?[/post]
    • [post=368485]Why has my account been suspended?[/post]
    • [post=368487]How can I unsuspend my account?[/post]
    • [post=521779]How do I unsuspend myself if I was suspended for inactivity?[/post]
    • [post=368489]How can I avoid the inactivity suspension?[/post]
    • [post=368493]I have a PHP based web and I have a PHP error.[/post]
    • [post=368495]How can I open/close my own thread?[/post]
    • [post=368505]I have the PHP error in a subdomain and I have the correct PHP version[/post]
    • [post=601365]Question not listed?[/post]


    Please if you think that there is a question that should be written here, send me a PM with "New F.A.Q" written as the title and I'll add it here. Also if you find an error, don't doubt in sending me another pm saying it. ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 30, 2009
  2. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 18, 2009
  3. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 18, 2009
  4. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    How can I upload files to my hosting account?

    You can do it in several ways:
    • From cPanel: Login to your cPanel, go to the "File Manager" and from there you can manage your files.
    • From windows: Go Start -> Run ->Write : ftp.yourdomain.com( e.g ftp.miweb.x10hosting.com ). It will appear a new white window. Click with the right button in the white place and click to "Log in as". Type in your cPanel login details.
    • From a FTP client: Download some FTP client as Filezilla or CuteFTP.*

    *When you're asked for account details they are asking for:
    • Server: ftp.yourdomain.com
    • User: cPanel User
    • Password: cPanel Password


    [post=368451]Return to the main post[/post]​
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2008
  5. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    How can I access to my cPanel?

    To access to your cPanel you have to do this:

    Type in your browser address bar http://www.yourdomain.com:2082/ . A log in will appear. Just type in there your cPanel user and password. You can find this information in your registration email.


    [post=368451]Return to the main post[/post]​
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 18, 2009
  6. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I can't see my web. It shows "Server can't be found"

    In the 99.99% of the cases it happens when some of the x10 services are down.

    Please be patient and wait. If after 24h your website is still offline you should go here http://forums.x10hosting.com/free-hosting/ and create a thread about the issue. We will solve it.


    [post=368451]Return to the main post[/post]​
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2008
  7. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 18, 2009
  8. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I have the error "login attempt failed" in my cPanel

    Please, remember that your cPanel username and password is case sensitive. So be careful with the caps.

    If your problem persists, go http://forums.x10hosting.com/free-hosting/ and create a thread showing us your problem. Please include your domain name and your cPanel user in your post.

    Wait patiently for a AM or an Admin answer. Usually we set another password and send it to you via PM.

    [post=368451]Return to the main post[/post]​
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 1, 2010
  9. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Last edited: May 13, 2008
  10. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Where can I see my account details?

    To see your account details please login here http://www.x10hosting.com/account *


    *The login details are the same as your forum details. They aren't your cPanel details

    [post=368451]Return to the main post[/post]​
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2008
  11. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Where can I find the Ad codes?

    The ad codes can be found at http://x10hosting.com/panel.php?adcode

    *The login details are the same as your forum details. They aren't your cPanel details

    Advanced Plan: A text link that can be placed wherever you want but it must be on EVERY page on your website.
    Corporate Plan: A banner that must be placed in a place where the visitor can see it without using the scrollbar. It must be placed in EVERY page on your website.

    [post=368451]Return to the main post[/post]​
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 18, 2009
  12. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 27, 2009
  13. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 18, 2009
  14. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    How can I set my own domain

    There are few ways to do it.

    In your cPanel if you go to the Domain option you can find some options that will help you to configure it.
    • Subdomains: Subdomains are URLs for different sections of your website. They use your main domain name and a prefix. For example, if your domain is wow-spanish.es a sub-domain of your domain might be support.
    • Addon domain: An addon domain allows you to reach a sub-domain when entering the name of the addon domain into a browser. This means that you can host additional domains from your account, if allowed by your hosting provider. Addon Domains are relative to your account's home directory.
    • Parked domain: Parked Domains (Domain pointers) allow you to "point" or "park" additional domain names to your existing hosting account. This will allow users to also reach your website when entering the "parked" or "pointed" domain into their browsers.
    • Redirects: Redirects allow you to make a specific web page redirect to another page and display the contents of that page. This way you can make a page with a long URL accessible by a page which has a shorter and easier to remember URL.

    You can also go here http://www.x10hosting.com/account and change your domain name. Note that your .x10hosting.com , .exofire.com domain will be deleted and changed for the one you set.

    [post=368451]Return to the main post[/post]​
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2008
  15. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Which are the x10 DNS ?

    The x10Hosting DNS servers and DNS' IP are:

    ns1.x10hosting.com - 67.228.168.190
    ns2.x10hosting.com - 74.86.117.241

    [post=368451]Return to the main post[/post]​
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2008
  16. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Why has my account been suspended?

    Go here http://staff.x10hosting.com/suspended.page/
    and enter your cPanel username. It will show you why your account has been suspended.

    [post=368451]Return to the main post[/post]​
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2008
  17. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Last edited: May 13, 2008
  18. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    How can I avoid the inactivity suspension?

    To avoid the "inactivity suspension" you must log in the x10 Forums at least once every 31 days.

    *Note* - You do not have to create a thread or make a post, you only need to login.


    [post=368451]Return to the main post[/post]​
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 18, 2009
  19. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I have a php based web and I have a php error.

    x10 has been used by some people whose objective was to abuse the servers. For that reason x10 added some restrictions to PHP.

    You can read this thread for more information

    http://forums.x10hosting.com/news-announcements/30267-important-php-changes-read-all-servers.html

    Often, to solve your problem you must apply for the intermediate php version. You can do it here http://www.x10hosting.com/account.

    If you still have problems ask here http://forums.x10hosting.com/free-hosting/ and we will see if you need the advanced php version.

    [post=368451]Return to the main post[/post]​
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2008
  20. Kansy

    Kansy Community Advocate Community Support Prime Account

    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    How can I open/close my own thread?


    Do the following:

    To close your own thread:


    [​IMG]

    To open your own thread:


    [​IMG]

    [post=368451]Return to the main post[/post]​
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2008
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page