HELP: Review my site, please.

Discussion in 'Review My Site' started by olivejac, Dec 2, 2016.

1. olivejac

olivejac New Member

I would like comments/suggestions (good and bad) on my website. I'm a new author and a novice at creating a website. Not really familiar with all of the terminology on here but had to create a website as part of my publishing class. Thanks. olivejackpublishing.x10host.com

2. eshigluk

eshigluk New Member

I like the colors you used. But one suggestion I would give is, remove some stuff from the sidebar (
    RECENT POSTS,
    RECENT COMMENTS,
    ARCHIVES,

CATEGORIES,
    META,) or at least some of them that are not crucial part of your website.
    But your homepage is pretty cool. And I like your theme.

3. lylex10h

lylex10h Active Member

Enable compression so it loads faster. Add the following code to you .htaccess

Code:
    <IfModule mod_deflate.c>
        <IfModule mod_setenvif.c>
            BrowserMatch ^Mozilla/4 gzip-only-text/html
            BrowserMatch ^Mozilla/4\.0[678] no-gzip
            BrowserMatch \bMSIE !no-gzip !gzip-only-text/html
            BrowserMatch \bMSI[E] !no-gzip !gzip-only-text/html
        </IfModule>