HRU (High Resource Usage) Policy Change

Discussion in 'News and Announcements' started by Corey, Sep 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Corey

    Corey I Break Things Staff Member

    Messages:
    34,552
    Likes Received:
    181
    Trophy Points:
    63
    We are aware that high resource usage suspensions are the number one complaint for the free hosting service so we've been working on a less invasive way to track usage and take actions to keep the servers stable.

    First, I will need to explain CPU usage a bit below.
    Going forward you will be allowed 300 CPU seconds per hour, 1 second of CPU time means you used a full core (2.93Ghz) for the whole second. If you used 293Mhz for 10 seconds it would equal 1 second of CPU time.

    It does not matter to us when you use this CPU time, it can be the beginning of the hour, or the end. You can use it all at once or spread it out throughout the hour. This will solve the problem of people being suspended for installing and upgrading scripts where short bursts of high CPU are required.

    If you hit your CPU limit your traffic will be redirected to a page telling the users that you have hit your resource limit and to please try again in an hour. Once an hour is up your resource usage will automatically reset and your site will work as usual. If your traffic is redirected your cPanel, FTP, and email will still work fine. This will allow you access to your files and email giving you the ability to try and resolve the high resource issue.

    With the above you will also find new icons in your cPanel that will let you track your own CPU time and other resources that your account is using including some hourly and daily graphs.

    This system is almost fully implemented on all free hosting servers, we hope to put it live in the next 24 hours. At that time automatic HRU suspensions will be shut off in favor of this new system.

    Please note, CPU time and other limits may change as we gather data from the new system.

    As always, we do not provide support in news threads, however I will be happy to answer any questions about the new system.
     
  2. masshuu

    masshuu Head of the Geese Community Support Enemy of the State

    Messages:
    2,293
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I gave you an idea like this like 6 years ago
     
  3. khopcraft77

    khopcraft77 New Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sweet, thanks Corey.
     
  4. phoenix2010

    phoenix2010 Member

    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks corey this will make things a little easier.

    especialy the button in cpanel where users can track there own usage , totaly brilliant
     
  5. forumafrique78

    forumafrique78 New Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. blacknight.the89

    blacknight.the89 New Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont know... my site went offline now due this new system and i believe is more troublesome than the older one since I could fix the problems and try not to get past 25% of cpu now i have to make the few users I had wait 1 hour for using less than that.... great D:
     
  7. blogalfred001182

    blogalfred001182 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont like this HRU new policy.
    cant upload anymore a big files 100mb by remote it will stop in 45 second in loading and the upload will stop -.- and i see in the folder there a file name php_errorlog i open it and the error is [19-Sep-2011 04:46:10] PHP Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 45 seconds exceeded in /home/bloggera/public_html/ line 119
     
  8. Jake

    Jake Developer Contributors

    Messages:
    4,057
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That has little to do with the new HRU policy and everything to do with php maximum execution time. You should be uploading files via FTP anyway. Uploading that large of files over a php script does not ensure the file will be fully uploaded at all.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2011
  9. theone48

    theone48 New Member

    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pardon me, but please illuminate. What is the meaning of 'usage', how does somebody get to spend/surpass these seconds? Do they have anything to do with real seconds?

    ---------- Post added at 07:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:52 AM ----------

    Never mind, it's answered in the other thread. Thanks.
     
  10. vv.bbcc19

    vv.bbcc19 Community Advocate Community Support

    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    48
    The issue discussed is different from you mentioned.
    By the way, why such big files to be uploaded!!
    Kindly check again so that the files (>100Mb) abide to ToS.Goodluck.
     
  11. theone48

    theone48 New Member

    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I don't think you could ever upload files bigger than 100mb without breaking Terms of Service.
     
  12. blogalfred001182

    blogalfred001182 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cant found php.ini . how to make unlimited php maximum execution time?
     
  13. Anna

    Anna I am just me Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,324
    Likes Received:
    230
    Trophy Points:
    63
    You can not change php.ini, it is a server wide setting.
     
  14. Dead-i

    Dead-i x10Hosting Support Ninja Community Support

    Messages:
    6,084
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    If you upload a file via a .php file, the file must take lower than 45 seconds to upload. If this happens, this error will occur. Like the others said, this has little to do with this new system, and FTP is a good alternative for uploading larger files.

    Even when you use FTP?
    Although, why would you need to upload files higher than 100mb? x10hosting only permits web hosting (not file storage) and from all the CMSs I've seen they're usually below 50mb?

    The php.ini is in the control of x10Hosting and cannot be changed by you.
    Even if x10Hosting changed this file, it would affect every single user on that server.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2011
  15. skurwiel55

    skurwiel55 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    He said that he can't upload via php files with size 100 MB, so... it is not higher than 100 MB. Anyway your HRU system cause php overuse of memory and it don't works.

    By the way:

    PHP:
    set_time_limit(0);
    This (at the beginning of the script file, below <?) will hold execution of php file till it's done.

    You are welcome.
     
  16. renovatio_2143

    renovatio_2143 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this rule the same with prime and illuminated users? Anyway trying to understand the graph, my traffic will get redirected for an hour if the red line pass the 90 limit on the first graph and/or 300 limit on the second graph? (whew i almost reached those limits while trying to install wp on a subdomain)
     
  17. Livewire

    Livewire Abuse Compliance Officer Staff Member

    Messages:
    18,099
    Likes Received:
    209
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Without disclosing the details of that users new permanent suspension, yes indeed it -was- bigger than 100mb. The new HRU rules don't change that you still have to abide by the terms regarding that we aren't to be used for file storage or for warez/copyright infringement hosting :)


    Other than that I like the new HRU system because it doesn't revoke access to the account; the old one pretty much made it impossible to edit anything to prevent it from HRU'ing because the account was locked. This one I like :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2011
  18. skurwiel55

    skurwiel55 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @Livewire

    ToS of x10hosting aren't very specific, you can't host sites with file storage, but you can host site with file storage when files are listed in the index.html/.php/.htm. Another example is site with pedophile photos encrypted with aes and processed by php after user request, ToS forbids doing things illegal by law, but sites with encrypted pedophilia aren't suspended.

    And why you don't suspend people with vBulletin nulled with keygens? Stopping at preventing php-nulled scripts isn't all you need to do...

    Well, examples of misunderstanding ToS (or it's errors) are in the very big number.

    Oups... I won't do your job - search by yourself for pages I use above (for my research I used Google.us+Domaintools.com).

    And, still, php overuse memory which is a basic reason why every dang script don't work :(.

    OK, I will be an a$hole -> http://tech-hacker.com <- warez+hacking+blackhat site hosted on your server (starka), proof: http://whois.domaintools.com/tech-hacker.com
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2011
  19. descalzo

    descalzo Grim Squeaker Community Support

    Messages:
    9,375
    Likes Received:
    327
    Trophy Points:
    83
    skurwiel55 : if you have evidence of pedophilia on x10 servers, please explain.
     
  20. Livewire

    Livewire Abuse Compliance Officer Staff Member

    Messages:
    18,099
    Likes Received:
    209
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I'll freely admit it's harder to police forums, but they aren't using a nulled version of vBulletin near as I can tell. They've been suspended regardless, and I thank you for providing me information about the violation.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page