JavaScript Regular Expression - Validating street address, city, zip and phone number

sikuneh

Reaction score
I am not very good with regular expressions, and for a school project I need to validate street address, city, zip and phone number fields in a form using JavaScript. I don't know where to start with regular expressions. I just need the basic validation: not empty (which I can do myself) and proper format.

Here is the base form fields.
HTML:
<table border="0" width="100%">
    <tr>
        <td>First Name</td>
        <td><input type="text" name="fname" /></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
        <td>Last Name</td>
        <td><input type="text" name="lname" /></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
        <td>Address</td>
        <td><input type="text" name="address" /></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
        <td>City, state, ZIP</td>
        <td><input type="text" style="width:200px;" name="city" /> <input type="text" style="width:50px;" name="state" /> <input type="text" style="width:75px;" name="ZIP" /></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
        <td>Phone</td>
        <td><input type="text" name="phone" /></td>
    </tr>
</table>

Last edited:

misson

Community Paragon
Community Support
Reaction score
Re: JavaScript Regular Expression - Validating street address, city, zip and phone nu

If you don't know where to start, it's an issue with the lesson or study material, so it's best to talk with your teacher or TA.