Network Upgrade

Discussion in 'News and Announcements' started by Corey, Jul 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Corey

    Corey I Break Things Staff Member

    Messages:
    34,552
    Likes Received:
    181
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I am changing around how we pass data between servers to make it more efficient and fault tolerant. This should drastically improve the loading speed of free hosting websites once complete.

    There will be a 5 to 10 second downtime for each server while I implement the new configs, network routing, and restart services. I should be done within the hour.

    I will update once I am done.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2011
  2. Corey

    Corey I Break Things Staff Member

    Messages:
    34,552
    Likes Received:
    181
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Maintenance has been completed. I'm interested to know if anyone can notice a speed difference, either an increase or decrease of load speed. Let me know.
     
  3. DanielWhite

    DanielWhite New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2011
  4. khopcraft77

    khopcraft77 New Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would say on average it is a bit faster than it was. Thanks :D
     
  5. Jessica.C

    Jessica.C Member Prime Account

    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    hmmm...I really noticed no difference...then again I do have a lot of mods installed, so I probably wouldn't notice.
     
  6. Corey

    Corey I Break Things Staff Member

    Messages:
    34,552
    Likes Received:
    181
    Trophy Points:
    63
    We're working on speeding up MySQL now.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. phoenix2010

    phoenix2010 Member

    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Firstly corey thanks for the great work your doing.

    secondly there doesnt seem to be any performance/speed

    improvement regarding my acount on stoli?

    im using joomla as well so maybe the MySql update

    might speed things up a bit?

    currently averaging about 8-9 seconds a page to load
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2011
  8. Corey

    Corey I Break Things Staff Member

    Messages:
    34,552
    Likes Received:
    181
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I spent about 6 hours tonight working with MySQL and we are currently thinking on some better solutions, however I can't make any guarantees. The problem is certain scripts by themselves and with plugins send 30-100 MySQL queries for one page load (Ridiculous amount). The MySQL server is not local to the web server that is serving your pages so sending a request has more overhead than normal. The overhead is very small but when you multiply it by 100 it ends up causing some serious slow down. The best advice I can give right now is find a caching plugin\patch for your script and install it. In some testing I did tonight it reduced some of these scripts from 50 queries\page down to 4 which means it went from 4-5 seconds per page load to 1 second.
     
  9. baranmatej63

    baranmatej63 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Curently I am experiencing loading speed of the cpanel and webmail on starka to be slower then before.
    Actualy I am having trouble loading Starka cPanel and Webmail.

    I hope that its just temporary and not an undesired side effect.
     
  10. phoenix2010

    phoenix2010 Member

    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the info corey i turned on system caching in the back end of joomla and cut the loading time in half but knocked out some of my scripts ? The ones i need ? Again thanks for the hard work and will bevwatching this thread very closely :biggrin:
     
  11. sperko

    sperko Member

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have noticed a speed difference, woohoo!
     
  12. wc3garage82

    wc3garage82 New Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh currently here my database go again.
    i'm missing the mybb_threadviews table again sad
    gonna revert it again from backup lol.

    hoping the mysql will be good 'cause that's a site's problem esp those with Free php scripts around (joomla,mybb,phpbb etc etc)
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page