Resolved Website won't load, times out

Discussion in 'Free Hosting' started by moarinfo, May 18, 2020.

  1. moarinfo

    moarinfo New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, I looked through the forum to see if I could find any info relevant to my situation, but it seems to be unique. For the past couple weeks when I try to access my website (moarinfosplz.x10host.com) it won't load and eventually gives a timed out error ("server took too long to respond"). I can log into cpanel and see all my files are still there, so it doesn't seem to be a migration issue, but it must be something else. Others have the same issue so it isn't a problem with my browser or IP address or anything.
    Thanks!
     
  2. lylex10h

    lylex10h Active Member

    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    28
    moarinfosplz.x10host.com resolves to 198.91.81.6 which has a PTR record of xo5.x10hosting.com (and resolves back to 198.91.81.6). When you access DirectAdmin (cPanel), does it show xo5.x10hosting.com:2222 in the address bar or a different URL?
     
  3. garrettroyce

    garrettroyce Community Support Community Support

    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    @lylex10h is correct. Your account didn't transfer DNS correctly. I'm asking an admin to look into this.
     
  4. Anna

    Anna I am just me Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,327
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    83
    DNS should now be updated.

    You might need to flush dns cache or await its natural refresh before the site loads properly.
     
  5. moarinfo

    moarinfo New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks, it is kind of working but now every page tries to download as a file instead of displaying in the browser. Tried Firefox and Chrome with same result.
     
  6. garrettroyce

    garrettroyce Community Support Community Support

    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    What does your .htaccess file look like? There's something wrong with the headers coming from your page, but I don't know why this would be only for you.

    Code:
    > GET /index.html HTTP/1.1
    > Host: moarinfosplz.x10host.com
    > User-Agent: curl/7.64.0
    > Accept: */*
    >
    < HTTP/1.1 200 OK
    < Connection: Keep-Alive
    < Content-Type: application/x-httpd-lsphp
    < Last-Modified: Wed, 17 Jul 2019 16:53:16 GMT
    < Etag: "2c3f-5d2f527c-e13ac71302310676;;;"
    < Accept-Ranges: bytes
    < Content-Length: 11327
    < Date: Sat, 23 May 2020 18:27:26 GMT
    < Server: LiteSpeed
    < Vary: User-Agent
    < Cache-Control: max-age=0, private, no-cache, no-store, must-revalidate
    <
    { [10136 bytes data]
    GET index.html
    Content-Type: application/x-httpd-lsphp

    So I'm requesting index.html but it's replying with a file that is x-httpd-lsphp (Lightspeed PHP?). It should reply with text/html, otherwise my browser will refuse to read it.
     
  7. moarinfo

    moarinfo New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Odd, I haven't touched most of the files since well before the migration, and everything had been working fine. Maybe there's a new version of php that functions differently? I had a few lines in the .htaccess file to force Lightspeed to treat html files as php so I could use php without needing the .php extension which worked before. I took it out for now, but is there a way to make it work again?
     
  8. garrettroyce

    garrettroyce Community Support Community Support

    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Maybe something like this?

    Code:
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^(.*)[.]html$
    RewriteCond %{DOCUMENT_ROOT}/%1.html !-f
    RewriteCond %{DOCUMENT_ROOT}/%1.php -f
    RewriteRule ^ %1.php [L]
    
    I'm sorry, I don't have time to test it immediately. This actually took way more time than I thought it would as I worked through it. If you need to debug it, add this to the top:

    LogLevel alert rewrite:trace3

    Your error log in DirectAdmin will show what it's trying to do.

    Explanation:

    RewriteEngine on start using rewrite*
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^(.*)[.]html$ Incoming request is (SOMETHING).html. Save SOMETHING to %1
    RewriteCond %{DOCUMENT_ROOT}/%1.html !-f On the server, SOMETHING.html does not exist
    RewriteCond %{DOCUMENT_ROOT}/%1.php -f On the server, SOMETHING.php does exist
    RewriteRule ^ %1.php [L] Rewrite SOMETHING.html as SOMETHING.php; do not redirect the visitor; do not process any more RewriteRules
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2020
  9. garrettroyce

    garrettroyce Community Support Community Support

    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
  10. garrettroyce

    garrettroyce Community Support Community Support

    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    @moarinfo Is your issue resolved? Please let us know if you need any further assistance. This thread will be closed soon for inactivity. Thank you.
     
  11. moarinfo

    moarinfo New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks @garrettroyce, I haven't had a chance to test what you gave me, but my site is working for now without the html/php stuff so I consider it resolved. I'm just not sure why it stopped working in the first place, when the exact same site was working before the migration.
     

Share This Page