Atari 2600

Mightymatt54

Reaction score
The forum description says from the Xbox360 to the Atari 2600, and quite ironically i have a working Atari 2600 in my basement, does anyone else have one and/or want to share their opinion on the best game for it?

Being as old as it is the controllers are getting hard to use, but my old Atari is still great, and quite a few of its games are better than the ones i play on my 360.

If i had to pick id say my favorite game on it would be "Boxing", its easy and fun, plus you look like a little ant and can glitch the other player into a wall and KO them in about 30 seconds if your on the left. The ¼" pixels are always fun too :)

Edit: I did some research and i found that what i have is the 1977 Sunnyvale "Heavy Sixer", fun stuff :)

Last edited:

Wolfio1

Reaction score
You have a Heavy Sixer? Lucky!
I started playing the 2600 about a year ago. Since then, I've added two more to my collection. Two are six switch models: one I bought on Ebay and it works very well, the other I bought at a yardsale the year before, but it lacked the wires I needed, so it sat packed up for a year. It's picky about working. (Neither of them being a Sunnyvale, though), The other I bought at an antique shop. It's a basic four switch model and works with no trouble at all, so it's the one I have hooked up.

I could actually use game recommendations, as I have a decent pile but tend to play Dragonfire the most. It's easy to pick up and put down.

Last edited:

phantomrainbow

Reaction score
i always liked pitfall and centipede..
i used to like space invaders and the tank game..
my sister still has one that works...

Mightymatt54

Reaction score
My controllers are all as old as the ones that came with it back in '77 so a couple dont work, and the three that do are rather difficult to make work, i think its the contacts inside them, and tips as to how and if i can refurbish them?

Smith6612

I ate all of the x10Pizza
Community Support
Reaction score